Search NaijaAgroNet

Sunday, March 13, 2016

Nigeria, Zambia, 3 others selected as AU disease control centers


Five countries including Nigeria, Zambia Gabon, Kenya and Egypt, have been selected as sub-regional disease control centres by the Africa Union (AU), reports NaijaAgroNet.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) quoted the Director, Social Affairs, African Union Commission (AUC), Mr. Olawale Maiyegun, as saying at the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja, weekend, that these designated centres represent a cluster of regional collaborating centres for AU on disease related control efforts.

He explained that these countries have a coordinating office within the AU headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia based on laid down criteria which was approved last year, 2015 under the Article 26 of the Africa Centre for Disease Control (ACDC) statutes.

“We are in Nigeria and our aim is to determine if the National Centres for Disease Control, which serves as centre for disease control in West Africa, meets the criteria that are contained in the statutes. We are not comparing the countries with each other rather we are evaluating and assessing them to ensure they meet every criteria.”

He stressed AU expectation on its mandate through government commitment, human resources, infrastructure and funding.

Maiyegun further commended efforts of the current Nigerian government toward the CDC concept fulfillment.

Isaac Oyimah with agency report/GEE

... Linking agrobiz, sustainable environs, people & technology

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share ur views here